Old Games, New Horizons

3 Jan

I’m a gamer. I know, big surprise, right? All you have to do to know this is take a cursory look around this site. I’m kind of a Nintendo fangirl, too. You knew that, too? Am I really so easily read?

 

It’s no secret that I love Nintendo. I’ve been playing Nintendo games for 26 years. That’s kind of a long time. I collect Nintendo systems and games, classic and contemporary. I own at least one of every system that the company has released, including rarities(and depending on who you ask, stinkers) like the Virtual Boy. I’ve got some rare and valuable stuff, too.

 

That being said, I’m pretty much into a lot of mainstream games. I typically play the Nintendo produced/published titles like, Super Mario, Legend of Zelda, Metroid, Kirby, and Pokemon. I can tell you just about everything that you’d care to know about most of these series.

Over the last few years, I’ve noticed a trend of games being released on platforms other than the ones that I owned. Upon reflection, I determined that there weren’t enough of these titles to warrant buying a secondary platform, like many gamers have. At one time, when I was with my ex, I owned an Xbox 360, but I didn’t own more than about six games on it that weren’t available on the Wii. Compare that to the 55 Wii games that I own, and the 11 Wii U games that I own, and that system hasn’t been out for much more than a year.

 

I gave some serious thought to buying myself a PlayStation 3 this year. I wanted a chance to get my hands on some games that I hadn’t been able to during the last hardware cycle. Owning a middle-of-the-road PC, and running Steam, I’ve been able to get a lot of the games that I couldn’t get on the Wii. However, I ultimately decided that I didn’t want to drop the $150 plus on another platform that I wouldn’t get more than seven or eight titles on altogether.

 

I had this idea—I already own more than enough platforms to search for new games on. I know that there are plenty of games that I missed on the GameCube, SNES, and probably every platform that I own. I can fill in a back catalog of games reaching back to the pre-NES era. Like I said before, I own every Nintendo system, but I also own the Sega Master System, Genesis and Saturn(but I haven’t even been able to determine if it works. I don’t have software to play on it), PlayStation and PlayStation 2, Atari 2600, 5200, and 7800—and that sounded like way more than it turned out being after I wrote it down.

 

I don’t have a lot of knowledge outside of mainstream Nintendo. That’s why I’m sending out this message to anyone who may want to give me a hand. What kinds of games on what platforms do you like to play? I’m curious to try pretty much anything, so if you would leave a comment here, on my Facebook post for this article, or via Twitter, I’d really appreciate it. I’m looking forward to trying out some new-old games!

Leave a comment